Home > Learning Material > A very British misunderstanding

A very British misunderstanding

 

Last week, whilst I was working, my colleague answered the phone and had to take a message for someone else. I knew who the person she had spoken to was so she asked me how to spell the name:

“How do you spell Hennessy?”

“H, E, N, N, E, S, S, Y,” I said.

“Was that ‘y’ at the end?” she asked.

“Aye.”

“Oh, ‘i’.”

“No, I meant ‘aye’ as in ‘yes’.”

We both laughed when we realised the misunderstanding.

 

In British English, “aye” means “yes”

“Aye” is a word that originates from Scotland (I think) and is a synonym for “yes”.

It is pronounced in exactly the same way as the letter “i”.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

