Home > Free British Accent Training, Learning Material > British accent training video: questions and answers

British accent training video: questions and answers

 

In this lesson I help you construct questions and discuss ways to answer politely in British English, giving numerous examples. Please see my notes, below.

 

Questions

Inversions

“What will you do?”

“What are you doing?”

“What have you done?”

“What is she doing tonight?”

Using “do”

“What do you do?”

“What do you want?”

“Don’t you want to do that?”

“Do you want me to do that?”

“You want me to do that, do you?”

Using “please”

I suggest you use “please” with every question in British English. If not, you might be considered rude.

“Can I have a beer, please?”

“Please can we see the menu?”

Modal verbs

Can; could; would; may; shall (will); should (obligation)

Sound more polite

“Can / could you open the window, please?”

“Would you like to go out with me?”

“Would you like to give me your email address?”

“May I have a glass of water, please?”

“Do you want to do it, or shall I?”

“Do you want to do it, or should I?”

Confirming

“You do want that, don’t you?”

“I speak with a British accent, don’t I?”

“I’m English, aren’t I?”

Negative questions

“Won’t you come tonight?”

“You haven’t done it, have you?”

“Why didn’t you do that?”

“Why haven’t you done that (yet)?”

Learning English questions

“What does (that) mean?”

“How do you say…in English?”

“What’s the word / expression for…in English?”

“Can you repeat that, please?”
“Can you say that again, please?”

“Sorry?”

 

British answers and thanks

Always use “please”, “thank you” or “thanks”

Saying “yes”

“Yes, please.”

“Yes, thanks.”

“That’ll be fine, thank you.” (means “yes)

“That’s grand, cheers for that.” (British slang)

“OK, cheers.”

“Thanks ever so.”

“Ta muchly.”

“Nice one, thanks.”

“Cheers, that’s very kind of you.”

Saying “no”

“No, thanks.”

“I’m fine, thanks.” (means “no”)

“It’s ok, cheers.”

“That’s ok, thanks.”

“That’s all right, thank you.”

Neither “yes” or “no”

“Maybe.”

“I don’t mind.”

“I’m not bothered.”

“(It’s) up to you.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

