Home > Free British Accent Training, Learning Material > Learn British slang video

Learn British slang video

In this lesson I discuss more useful British slang terms. Please see below for explanations and examples.

 

Please note: “slang” does not take “s” in the plural form. For example, I am discussing some slang. Do not say “slangs”.

Also, I think that the term “slang” is an uncountable noun. I cannot say: “In this video I will discuss 20 slang.” We have to add another noun to make it countable, like “term(s)”. It might be one slang term or twenty slang terms. So I can say: “In this video I will discuss 20 slang terms.”

Sexy slang

Fit / hot (adj.)

Fancy (verb)

“I think she’s fit / hot. I really fancy her.”

Chat up (verb)

Pull (verb)

“One night he went into a bar and met a girl he thought was really fit. They got talking and he decided he fancied her, so he tried chatting her up and actually managed to pull her.”

Money slang

Dosh (slang for “money”)

Cash means physical money, e.g. notes and coins.

“Can I pay by card?” “I’m afraid we only take cash.”

Fiver (five pound note)

Tenner (ten pound note)

Quid

“Quid” is slang for “pound”. It does not take “s” in the plural. I can have one quid or 100 quid.

If I have a fiver, I have five quid in cash.

If I have a tenner, I have ten quid in cash.

Other slang

Ponce (posh person)

“I can’t stand him, he’s such a ponce.”

Telly (television)

“Is there anything good on the telly tonight?”

Ace (“amazing” / “great”)

Uni (university)

“Where did you go to uni?”

“I went to uni in Southampton and Cardiff.”

Knackered (very tired)

Cream-crackered (rhyming slang for “knackered”)

“I’m going to bed early, I’m absolutely knackered / cream-crackered.”

Gobsmacked (so shocked / stunned that you cannot speak)

“When she told me she was pregnant, I was gobsmacked!”

Dodgy (negatively unpredictable / uncertain)

“Their goalkeeper’s dodgy, he always makes mistakes.”

Sketchy (worried / anxious / uncertain)

“When she thought she was in trouble she was acting well sketchy.” (She was anxious.)

Bits and bobs (various / other things)

Bits and pieces (various / other things)

“I need to pick up some bits and bobs from the shop.”

“I need to pick up some bits and pieces from the shop.”

Stuff (various / other things)

“My lessons can help you learn British English and stuff.”

Stuff happened.” (Various things happened.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

