Home > Free British Accent Training, Learning Material > “Get” a load of this!

“Get” a load of this!

In this lesson I introduce some of the many uses for the incredibly versatile English word “get”. Please see the explanatory notes below.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hPnc5RegS4

 

 

Conjugation

 

I get

 

You get

 

He gets

 

She gets

 

We get

 

They get

 

Past simple / past participle: got

 

 

 

Verb substitutes

 

“Get” can be used as a substitute for the following verbs: fetch; answer; reach; understand; receive; arrive; become; buy; take; force (or make); start; have; and even more.

 

EXAMPLES

 

Change of state (become)

 

“He’s got fat since Christmas!”

 

“You were embarrassed and kept getting redder and redder.”

 

Receive

 

“Did you get my text?”

 

“What did she get for her birthday?”

 

Understand

 

“Do you get it?” (Do you understand?)

 

“Got it!” (I understand)

 

“Did you get it?” (The joke)

 

“Get it?” (The joke)

 

“She really gets me.”

 

Start

 

“Get learning!” (Start working! [Imperative])

 

“I’m gonna get going” (I will leave now)

 

Travel / reach / arrive

 

“How do you get there?” (Give me directions)

 

“When will we get there?” (When will we arrive?)

 

Force (or make)

 

“I’ll get them to do it.”

 

Buy

 

“I’ll get him something in town.” (I’ll buy him something in the shops in the city centre.)

 

“Can I get…?” (In a shop / bar.)

 

Answer

 

“Could you get the door?” (Please answer the door. [Someone has just knocked.])

 

 

 

What have you got?

 

“Get” is used in the present perfect form as a substitute for “have”.

 

I’ve got something for you,” means, “I have something for you.”

 

“I’ve got your wallet.”

 

“They’ve got a very nice car.”

 

The same construct is used to express an obligation. (Usually a one-off.)

 

I’ve got to do something,” means “I have to do something.”

 

“To make learning English easier, you’ve got to know how to use “get” properly.”

 

In conversational English the “’ve” is often omitted:

 

I got it,” means, “I’ve got it.” (I have it.)

 

 

 

Phrasal verbs and common expressions using “get”

 

Get in the car.

 

Get on the plane.

 

Get out of the car.

 

Get off the train.

 

Get into / out of an item of clothing.

 

(Learn the correct prepositions for the expressions above.)

 

Get a load of this! (Take notice / pay attention.)

 

Get lost! (Go away!)

 

Get rid of something (Throw something away.)

 

Get on with it! (Continue with it.)

 

Get on with someone (Be friends with someone.)

 

“We’re friends. We get on really well.”

 

Get him! (Stop / catch him! [A policeman might say this.])

 

Get real. (Be realistic.)

 

I’ve got time. (I have time [to do something.])

 

“Do you want to do this?”

 

“Yes, I’ve got time.”

 

“Get out!” can mean, “Leave!”, “Stop being silly / stupid,” or even, “I don’t believe you.”

“Let’s get cracking.” (Let’s start.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

