Home > Learning Material > British English video lesson: British English song

British English video lesson: British English song

In this British English video I perform a song I’ve written about British English.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVjV7Cj7UtY

 

Lyrics (and music) by Chris Workman

Welcome to my British English song.

I might get some words wrong (because)

This language ain’t easy at all, (“ain’t” = “isn’t” in this context)

Practising is the most powerful tool.

Our vowels are a, e, i, o and u,

(Question:) Which consonant can be a vowel too? (Ask me if you don’t know.)

Write “i” before “e” except after “c”. (See explanation beneath the lyrics.)

But who cares if you only want to understand me?

 

The UK is a very crazy place

We always complain with a polite face.

I’m from the south so when I talk

I might confuse someone from the north. (Regional accents are very different.)

British jokes can seem unfunny and sad,

That’s because our sense of humour’s mad.

If you think it’s strange we drink so much tea

I love it a lot so please don’t tell me.

 

You ask why you have to work to learn

Just to speak to some stupid Briton.

You wonder: “Why don’t they learn to speak to me?”

Well I’m English and (to be honest) I’m too lazy.

 

You study grammar at home and at school

But “THERE’S AN EXCEPTION TO EVERY RULE”.

We say, “That’s life,” when it’s not easy,

Or we steal French and say, “C’est la vie”! (“C’est la vie” means “that’s life” in French.)

A language is never learned quickly,

Never “AS EASY AS 1, 2, 3”.

But working hard is all you have to do.

So good luck and I hope for the best for you.

 

(Spelling: when “i” and “e” are together it’s like “grieve” or “believe” except for when “c” comes first e.g. “receive” and “ceiling”.)

 

Copyright Chris Workman 2012.

  1. 28/09/2012 at 5:04 AM

    Very nice and usefull. Please make more of this kind of videos playing the guitar.

    • 30/09/2012 at 5:59 PM

      Greetings Carlos, I’ll try my best! Best regards.

  2. 30/09/2012 at 11:43 AM

    hi, in this blog is very usefull.

  3. Melda
    02/12/2012 at 11:35 PM

    What i don’t understood is actually how you’re not actually much more well-liked than you might be right now. You are so intelligent. You realize therefore significantly relating to this subject, produced me personally consider it from so many varied angles. Its like men and women aren’t fascinated unless it is one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs excellent. Always maintain it up!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

